The Writers Panel with Ben Blacker

New pal Amy Aniobi (Insecure; Silicon Valley) joins returning champions Charles Murray (Luke Cage; Sons of Anarchy) and Ben Wexler (The Grinder; creator, The Comedians) to talk about what they all learned as assistants, common mistakes new writers make, ruining friendships, and lots more. 

Direct download: nwp325_aniobi.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am PDT

The creator of Prison Break and author of the new novel The Far Shore discusses prose writing, TV writing, compromising his vision, his Buddhism, and more. Recorded at Book Soup in Los Angeles on March 10, 2017.

Direct download: nwp324_scheuring.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am PDT

Gina Fattore (Dawson's Creek; Californication; Better Things); Courtney Lilly (Black-ish; My Boys), Kathleen Robertson (writer: upcoming: Swimming with Sharks; Your Time Is Up; actor: Murder in the First; Beverly Hills 90210).

Direct download: nwp323_fattore_lilly_robertson.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:47am PDT

Simon Rich (creator, Man Seeking Woman); Richard Keith & Erin Cardillo (creators, Significant Mother, Life Sentence), Dave Holstein (I'm Dying Up Here; Weeds).

Direct download: nwp322_rich_keith.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am PDT

The creator of Madam Secretary, Judging Amy, and Joan of Arcadia talks about tackling politics, writing about what's important, what she's learned from each experience, getting her start on Northern Exposure and I'll Fly Away, her country rock band, and more.

Direct download: nwp321_hall.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:00am PDT

John Wirth (V; Falling Skies), Krista Vernoff (Charmed; Wonderfalls), and Joanna Klein (SVP Scripted Development, The CW) discuss fantasy TV from building the look of a new world and the characters that inhabit it to placing supernatural characters into our everyday lives. Moderated by Emily Moss Wilson.

PLUS: The Ugly Betty reunion with creator Silvio Horta and cast members America Ferrera, Vanessa Williams, Eric Mabius, Michael Urie, Tony Plana, Ana Ortiz, Mark Indelicato, Rebecca Romijn, Ashley Jensen, and Judith Light.

Recorded at ATX Television Festival on June 12, 2016. Get your badge now for ATX's sixth season, June 8-11 2017, at

Direct download: nwp320_fantasy.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 11:15am PDT